Dedicated Left Turn Lanes Now in Effect at Five City Intersections 
At the December 06, 2022 City Council meeting, amendments to Traffic By-law 1983-2004 have been added to recognize dedicated left turn lanes at five city intersections. Each intersection was already designed to include dedicated left turn lanes to regulate and control traffic.

Left turn arrows have been painted on the dedicated left turn lanes at:
• Mountjoy St. and Algonquin Blvd. – north and south
• Cameron St. S at Algonquin Blvd. W – north
• Theriault Blvd. at Algonquin Blvd. W – south
• Preston St. at Algonquin Blvd. W – north and south
• Airport Rd. at Westmount Blvd. – north and south

The lane is used for left turns only, yielding to oncoming traffic, pedestrians and cyclists before making a left turn. The use of dedicated left turn lanes is designed to improve road safety and operation. The lanes serve to separate turning traffic from through traffic and increase capacity of the road.

For additional information, contact Service Timmins at or by phone at 705-264-1331.
Posted by Amanda Dyer On 11/8/2023 at 11:23 AM  

  • © 2018 City of Timmins. All Rights Reserved.