Community Development Committee


The mandate of the City of Timmins Community Development Committee is to facilitate community growth and development through a “one-stop shop” and to advise City Council on matters pertaining to community development. 


The Committee is responsible for dealing with the following matters:

  1. Provide a “one-window” approach to reviewing Subdivision, Site Plan and Development agreements under the Planning Act.
  2. Real Property matters dealing with City Land (e.g. sales, acquisition, leases, easements, etc.).
  3. To develop and direct key project initiatives that will foster growth and development within the municipality.
  4. To ensure that the community is aware of the mandate and availability of the Community Development Committee by actively promoting the availability and accessibility of the Committee to residents, business people, developers and other professionals for the purposes of discussing or resolving any issues pertaining to community and land development.

The authority of the Committee will not impact upon the decision-making capacities of each of the respective Department Heads and in particular Council. For instance, the Committee is not expected to authorize City land sales but rather make recommendations to Council for their approval. In addition, any concerns brought forward dealing with operational matters, should be directed to the appropriate Department Head or Council for resolution.


The Core Members of the Committee with voting privileges include:

  • Chief Administration Officer
  • City Clerk/Director of Community Services
  • Community Development Planner (Secretary)
  • Chief Executive Officer of the Timmins Economic Development Corporation
  • Director of Financial Services
  • Director of Growth and Infrastructure
  • Director of Public Works and Environmental Services
  • Manager of Planning (the Chair)
  • Mattagami Region Conservation Authority Regulations Officer

In addition to the core city staff members, other municipal staff or key stakeholders may be requested to attend meetings for the purpose of offering their input on matters falling within their respective areas of expertise.


The Committee will meet biweekly, preferably on Tuesdays. Meetings commence at 1:30 p.m. Special meetings may be called from time to time as required. In order to be included on the agenda, matters must be brought forward no later than the Thursday prior to the meeting in question. Meeting materials are circulated by 12 noon on the Friday prior to the Tuesday meeting.


The Committee reports directly to City Council through the Chief Administrative Officer. The minutes of meetings and any reports, including recommendations of the Committee, are forwarded to members of Council by the Planning Division.


Whenever possible, recommendations will be reached by consensus. Should consensus not be achieved, then a vote will be held. For voting purposes, a quorum will be a simple majority of voting members.


The Committee will receive administrative support from the Planning Division, who will be responsible for securing adequate meeting locations, times, preparing agendas, recording the minutes, preparing reports and other related duties. The Community Development Planner will be the main contact and lead for the Committee. 

For further information, please contact the Planning Division.

Phone: (705) 360-2624
Fax: (705) 360-2678
Email: [email protected]